The 2013 President’s Cup

This is a men’s golf match between the United States and an International Team excluding Europe. The Europe plays Ryder Cup with the U.S. Started in 1994, the biennial contest is now held on odd numbered years. The 2013 President’s Cup tournament is scheduled at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio during the first week of October 2013. Fred Couples is the U.S. Captain and the U.S. team includes world’s number one Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson among many others. The International Team is captained by Nick Price and the team includes 2013 Masters Champion Adam Scott of Australia and many others from several countries.

The scoring system for the event is known as match play. Each side contains 12 players and a non-playing captain. In doubles event pairing are usually done by the captain and players alternate shots and played on best ball format. All players play foursome and fourball matches on Thursday and Friday. Two players will sit out Saturday matches and each player plays on one-on-one on Sunday. Each match is worth one point. There are 11 foursome doubles, 11 fourball doubles and 12 singles for a total of 34 points. So, in order to win the cup the winning team must get 17.5 points.